Where I am today


I briefly mentioned in the first post that I like to travel. My home base is in the big city of Toronto in Canada. This is where my friends, family, and university is. This is where I refuel before I am in the air again. In the summer months after another year of education, I am gone.

I like to fill my summer with adventure and an experience to learn. I love going places I’ve never been, and there is a long list I need to start checking off. Throughout my travels, the best souvenirs I’ve brought back have been my photos. The day before I left for a French-language exchange in northern Quebec, I opened my 19th birthday present, a Canon Rebel xsi. The next day I began shooting, learning as the memory cards filled, and I have been bringing back thousands of photos from my travels ever since.

It is a lovely morning in Kona, Hawaii. The fresh coffee runs smooth on my tongue and the ocean breeze is salty in the air. This morning is another world when I remember the days in Jordan only two weeks ago. I arrived in Hawaii a few days ago, living with my aunt and cousin, a part of the family that needs a lot of catching up to do. It was in July the year before when a thought of them appeared in my mind. It had been 15 years since I heard my aunt’s voice over the phone, and I distinctively remember her saying, “I don’t even know you anymore”. After about five minutes, we hung up. About five says later, I booked my flight. Those ten days I was on the Big Island were something special. I remember everything in such vivid detail. The following school year, I would close my eyes and feel the soft breeze from the fields with lazy horses, taste the sour, salty ocean when caught in a wake with sea turtles, and this probably doesn’t make any sense, but I remember how the sun smelled in Hawaii. My trip was short; I was leaving for a research project in South Africa only three days after I returned to Toronto. My visit to Hawaii stuck with me and it called me back.

I found myself sitting by the ocean, watching the waves ripple the edges of the beach. I had nothing planned for the day, and then realized I hadn’t planned anything at all for my second visit to Hawaii. What was going to be different? The last time my purpose was to meet family. Now I’m back and I don’t know what I’m here for. Beach crabs peeked through the sand, a young girl kissed the ocean waves, and I found myself lost in my thoughts asking myself about people, about the world. There went an hour given in to my thoughts and questions, and then they were lost at sea. Again. Everyday of every year I sit and wonder, and I never know if I wonder the same things because I don’t write them down. I sat up straight as a little oven ‘ding’ went off inside my head. I will start to write. ‘The Karma Initiative’ idea came quick and I found myself rushing home to the sign-up page for this blog.

It has begun. Another adventure. Albeit, the black and white text is not as nice as the ocean view behind my back, but for me, this is a new and creative way to express myself and connect with others. I would like to share what happens out there in what is a new media of art for me. This blog will be my outlet for all the thoughts and questions that generate inside me, powered by the energy all around me, no matter where in the world I am today.

The ocean behind is inviting me in..

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

