Is it worth it?


After a few tiring days of term tests and papers, the first thing I did when I got home from work and running errands was lie in my bed for a moment. In the moment wrapped in warm, soft blankets away from the chilly, damp day.. let me tell you, it felt like ecstasy. Then I thought that I could have just lay in my bed all day if I wanted to. Why was snuggling up in my blankets at 6pm for a minute the best feeling I’ve had all day? I could technically lie in my bed every day, sleep in until I felt like starting my day. But then, if that were the case, in five years from now I would be sleeping in for another day like the ones before. I don’t think much would be different in my life five years from now. We get up early in the mornings and go to the gym, rush to work, finish a paper, so that in five years we can be in a place we dream about. In a place where we are healthy, looking good, paying the bills, and being able to afford the things we want to do. Then I think about how we are always told to live in the moment. So, if I prefer to have a simple life with simple pleasures, can I get by being a bum? I probably could. I know people who do just that. There are a lot of days when I feel like doing nothing. But instead, I am opting for a future with opportunities that allow me to do bigger and brighter things. At the same time, I will enjoy the simple pleasures, like the fish and chips and a cold cola I am just about to enjoy.

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

