Achoo, bless you


I haven’t caught the common cold for a long time. The last time I can remember was for the week I was excavating in South Africa. That was August 2010.

This past weekend was difficult to focus on putting together three proposals and preparing for two discussion based classes. The mornings were productive, but when you feel like ass, it is hard to use that web of knowledge in your fuzzy head, coughing, sneezing, nose dripping.

Although not everything got done, I did not stress, but rather embraced the feeling of crap. The common cold changes productiveness into incapacitation.. it is kind of like a little holiday. I’ve slowed down, rested, still done some work – albeit slowly – but there is nothing you can do but take it easy.

As the climate rapidly changes day to day this season, it has caused a majority of us to become ill – and this week in particular. But I have come to realize that the common cold can be a blessing in disguise. So maybe saying “Bless you” means something more.

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

