The past, present, and the future


As a fifteen-year-old girl, the world really seemed like a big and wondrous place, and I had many dreams. I took a pen and wrote out a list of things I wanted to do in this life, like: swim with wild dolphins, get my flying license, and publish a book. I came across this list before I left for excavation, while combing through storage for gear. Now at 22-years-old, the world is different, and I find myself doing less daydreaming and more living. With the week of free time I have between the end of excavation in Jordan and returning to Toronto, I have booked a flight and hotels with a small group of friends, allowing me to put a line through an item on the list: see the pyramids of Giza.

The Tell Madaba Archaeological Project (TMAP) 2012 season has seen its final touches of work and many celebratory drinks. The girls relaxed yesterday at a serene Turkish bath in Amman, going through the steam room, hot tub, sauna, a scrub down, facial and massage to finally remember what it feels like to be clean. The indulgences obviously continued with a four course brunch at Books@Cafe… but it is sad to say that after an archaeology conference tomorrow, the nineteen U of T students leave for the airport and head home. The remaining supervisors leave on our own time, some serendipitously meeting up for wine in Paris, another solo-traveling to Rome, others heading home to get into the rhythm of work, and a small group and I immediately starting a new adventure to Egypt!

Its never a dull moment when you find yourself investing in learning and life experiences with people who want to see the world whether in modern or ancient times. It has been a blast teaching and being apart of the TMAP crew!

The 2012 TMAP crew

The 2012 TMAP crew

The 2012 TMAP crew

The 2012 TMAP crew

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Archaeology, Jordan, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

