Old Islamic Cairo


The word for “market” in Arabic is souk. A few blocks from the Arabian Nights hostel where I stayed in Cairo is the old souk called Khan el Khalili. It is a busy, colourful maze of, well, things. Silver trays, rugs, alabaster lamps, dresses, fruit, and trinkets are sold in the winding streets next to Ottoman buildings as had been done for hundreds of years. Really.

On the first night, Abby, Brooke and I made friends with a shop owner, Rame, who scored us backstage passes to a movie set in a stunning Ottoman mosque. Sorry, no photos!

ImageImageImage

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Egypt, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

