Cairo Museum evaluation


The Cairo Museum

The Cairo Museum

Here I am with my travel girls in front of the Cairo Museum, home to the mummies, statues, artifacts, and gold you come to Egypt to see. Within the salmon-coloured walls of the building is where the red-haired mummy of Ramses II rests and King Tutankhamen’s funerary mask shines. Safeguarding Egypt’s history is key when there is a long history of mistreatment and wrongful claims to artifacts from the country. So, when guards walk around the courtyard with machine guns bouncing on their hips I don’t have any questions. Especially when the country is in a revolution and the Mubarak building to the left of the entrance is blackened in a recent scorching from the protests earlier in 2011. Other steps that are taken is that you must leave your cameras in a booth outside (not my favourite), go through a metal detector, while your bags go through an x-ray twice, and you have to show your student ID everywhere. I didn’t use the bathrooms in the museum, but I am certain you have to use your ID there too.

There are many precautions that have been taken to limit any shenanigans at the museum. This is why I was surprised I was getting free-rides and freebies throughout the day. This is probably due to the fact that I apparently look like a famous Egyptian movie star that I alluded to earlier. When my friends and I bought Movenpick ice-cream to cool down, I received a paper cup that was piled high and overflowing with vanilla and mango deliciousness, but was told to keep it a secret, beautiful *eye wink*. When I came back a second time in the day to search for some friends, they let me in the museum for free. And then we got interviewed for a TV show called Treasures.

I had a great time at the Cairo Museum, and nothing got stolen, burnt down and everybody was safe, so keep it up you flirtatious Egyptian men! Though I have one request: install some air-conditioning please!

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Egypt, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

