The Good Life


Since I have come back from my summer travels for 2012, I have been catching up with friends and family, appointments, and picking up pieces of life that I have left in stasis. All too frequently I am thinking Wow time flies! I do not want time to fly. I want to embrace every millstone and celebration that life offers. I want to not watch, but live history in the making. I want to actively be a part of a community. I want to enjoy and keep healthy relationships with family and friends, and I want to live this life with them. In my heart, this is “the good life”.

A few days ago, a friend shared a story with me about one of her co-workers. Her co-worker is an African immigrant who moved to Canada so she could have “the good life”. However, her observations made her unsure if anyone knew what that was. She told my friend that people here wake up in the morning, go to a hectic workplace, and then rush home to watch television or sit at the computer. She compared this to her life at home, where you are not surrounded by flat screen electronics and nice cars, but by friends and family who are actively apart of your daily activities.

Although these lives are different, which memories would you rather like to have? Ones of someone else’s life on a television series, hazy memories at bars, and the commute to the corporate office – or, the meals you cooked and ate with friends and family, the friend you made with a perfect stranger, and the heart of a storm you got caught in while riding your bike.

I have to think that the ever-ending technology that we are bombarded with is inhibiting us to really experience life and feel the connections that humans can make with nature and with each other. Technology is truly a great thing, but it is only true if it improves life. You would think that the opportunities that technology has given to people in Canada would mean that everybody fits in a role of a community and lives a happy life. But, this is not the case.

Can you have both the wealthy life and a meaningful life? You definitely can. As long as you make a community of friends and family you respect and if you live your life with passion can you live the good life.

Image

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

