Continuing as a dirty archaeologist..


It is has been a while since I have been on wordpress. But now I am sitting at my computer a dirty mess, but happy to have finished my first month at my new job! 

I am now working for an archaeology consulting firm based in Toronto as a field technician. This means that my day starts at 6am and finishes usually at about 5pm. Most of the work is physical and always in the element. This is pretty much what I saw myself doing many years ago. However, I never thought I would be working in such beautiful places in Ontario. Or perhaps, I never realized how beautiful it is when you go just beyond the city. It is exceptionally beautiful in the autumn! You can see just how so with a few photos below. 

The first while of the job was an adjustment, especially to my body. Tired, dirty, sore, closing my eyes and seeing pieces of Native pottery mixed in with the dirt in my screen.. it took some out of me even to head to the bar and grab a beer! But now, the first month is over and I feel ready to add some more to my evenings. I would like to continue to blog, and I have stories and photos to share with you, but I am wondering if these posts will fit well into the Karma Initiative. Hmmm. 

The Karma Initiative was created to share my travels and thoughts about living with passion. However, I am not too sure who is reading. Some friends wanted to hear from me? Travellers wanting to see photos? People who happened to stumble upon my blog? I am not too sure how many will be interested in archaeology. Archaeology is one of my passions and I want to share its importance with you. But this passion needs another space to grow.

So, my news is that I will be starting a new blog called Meaningful Archaeology as a sister blog to the Karma Initiative. The blog will be up and running shortly and you can read more about my adventures with a passion of mine, archaeology – which may be a passion of yours too! 

And now here is a taste of some of the places archaeology can take you… 

ImageImage

About Lisa

Here is a snippet about me. I'm a born and raised city-girl from Toronto, Canada. I've now reached my 21st birthday (90s baby) and am making my way through university while traveling when I can. My trusty Canon Rebel is my favourite companion, and I will use this blog to share photos from my adventures. I have traveled to Greece, Italy, England, Serbia, Jordan, South Africa, Hawaii, Quebec, Nova Scotia, Arizona, Florida, and New York City. When I am in my home city, Toronto, I am continuing my studies at the University of Toronto for a degree in Archaeology. I have been part of archaeological projects in Madaba, Jordan and at Wonderwerk, South Africa. I am going into my fourth year at U of T and then see where life takes me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

